Posts Tagged ‘A Room of Her Own Foundation’


Finalist Judge Evie Shockley selected Leia Penina Wilson’s “I built a boat with all the towels in your closet” as A Room of Her Own’s fourth winning To the Lighthouse manuscript:  “I was mesmerized by the wild lyricism, quiet wit, and fearless curiosity of these poems.  I feel lucky to have encountered them and am delighted to recognize them with the To the Lighthouse Prize.

””I built a boat with all the towels in your closet” will be published by  Red Hen Press.

Jan. 31, 2013
Orlando Deadline: Poetry, Short Fiction, Creative Nonfiction & Flash Fiction

Read Full Post »

The deadline for A Room of Her Own Foundation‘s sixth $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award has been extended until Nov. 15, due to Hurricane Sandy.

Read Full Post »

Apply to A Room of Her Own Foundation for the sixth $50,000 Gift of Freedom Award — and have the time and money to pursue your creative dream.

The Gift of Freedom competition will determine finalists from each genre—creative nonfiction, fiction, playwrighting, & poetry. One genre finalist will be awarded the $50,000 Gift of Freedom grant. Along with a $5,000 cash prize, the three remaining finalists for the Gift of Freedom Award receive a professional mentoring session, eligibility to attend a future AROHO Retreat for Women Writers and the honored distinction of being the finalist in their genre.

Entries must be postmarked by Nov. 1, 2012.

Read Full Post »

Since 2003, the AROHO Retreat has gathered women writers to exchange ideas and develop their craft in New Mexico’s high desert.  Nestled in the red rocks of Ghost Ranch that inspired Georgia O’Keeffe, AROHO Retreat participants enjoy plenty of time to write, reflect, and establish alliances with other professional women writers.

The next retreat will be held at Ghost Ranch, Abiquiu, New Mexico, Aug. 12-18, 2013. For details, visit A Room of Her Own.

“To let oneself be carried on passively is unthinkable.” –Virginia Woolf


Read Full Post »


The Orlando Prizes sponsored by the A Room of Her Own Foundation are awarded in both spring and fall. Spring 2012 winners in four categories are listed above.

Entries in the fall competition, which also includes eMessages, are being reviewed now, as they were due July 31.

Read Full Post »

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »

%d bloggers like this: