Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘online courses’

Once again, Literature Cambridge is offering a wide array of online courses featuring Virginia Woolf and other renowned women writers who were her contemporaries. Read on for the details.

Women Writers Season

Go online to study a range of Woolf’s wonderful contemporaries. Authors on the list include Elizabeth Bowen, Winifred Holtby, Zora Neale Hurston, Rosamund Lehmann, Katherine Mansfield, Vita Sackville West, and many others — a full dozen in all.

The season focuses on writers in English, with most, but not all, based in Britain. Many of the authors included are not read widely today.

This is a great opportunity to discover some wonderful writers, and to study them with leading scholars.

Each online study session has a live lecture with a leading scholar and seminar on Zoom.

The season runs from June to September 2021. Get the details.

Virginia Woolf Season

The second Woolf Season starts in October 2021, runs through May 2022, and studies most of Woolf’s major works in detail. It includes live online lectures and seminars with leading scholars. Get the details.

The first season which explored Woolf’s major works in consecutive order, began in October 2020 with The Voyage Out (1915) and ran through June of this year with Between the Acts (1941).

Each two-hour class via Zoom was taught by a Woolf expert from the UK and featured a one-hour original lecture followed by a question and answer session.

Summer Wednesdays

As requested, some popular past sessions will be repeated on Wednesdays at 2 p.m. British Summer Time during July and August. Topics include:

Special rates for members

Members of the Virginia Woolf Society of Great Britain can book at the student rate for Woolf sessions.

Karina Jacubowicz is just one lecturer in Literature Cambridge’s online courses on Virginia Woolf via Zoom.

A Literature Cambridge Zoom room

Read Full Post »

Literature Cambridge has good news for those who live at a distance from the University of Cambridge:  Its upcoming Study Days are moving online. The intensive but accessible sessions will be held via Zoom, due to the coronavirus.

Each session has a lecture and seminar with a leading scholar and will last approximately 100 minutes. Organizers recommend that you allow two hours for each class, just in case they run a bit longer.

LITERATURE CAMBRIDGE ONLINE STUDY DAYS

Study Day: To the Lighthouse: The Mother in the Garden

Date and time: Saturday 9 May, 6–8 p.m. British Summer Time; 7–9 p.m. Central European Time

Join Lit Cambridge for an intensive evening studying one of Virginia Woolf’s greatest novels. Based on Woolf’s memories of childhood summers by the sea, To the Lighthouse is a powerfully moving account of love, art and loss.

Lecture and a seminar led by Trudi Tate, Director of Literature Cambridge and a Fellow of Clare Hall, University of Cambridge.

Date and Time for other time zones: Sunday 10 May 2020 (Repeat class)

Lit Cambridge will repeat the topic on 10 May, for the benefit of people in Japan, Australia, and similar time zones. But you are welcome to book, wherever you are. This will be a live lecture and seminar, via Zoom.

10.00-12.00 British Summer Time
11.00-13.00 Central European Time
18.00-20.00 Tokyo Time
19.00-21.00 Melbourne time
21.00-23.00 New Zealand Time

Study Day: Virginia Woolf, Mrs Dalloway

Date and time: Sunday 24 May, 6–8 p.m. British Summer Time; 7–9 p.m. Central European Time

An intensive evening studying Virginia Woolf’s memorable novel set on a single day in London in 1923. Mrs Dalloway traces the joys, sufferings, and memories of two very different characters: Clarissa Dalloway, married to a Conservative Member of Parliament; and Septimus Smith, a former soldier who is suffering from shell shock.

Lecture and seminar led by Trudi Tate, Director of Literature Cambridge and a Fellow of Clare Hall, University of Cambridge, who has a chapter on Mrs Dalloway in her book, Modernism, History and the First World War .

Tickets and Bookings

£22 full price

£18 students and CAMcard holders

Bookings are open and can be made online.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: